Your recommendations for $10,000 stock investment? 🤔

Salam everybody, I need your help!

I already have some investments in ETFs, but now I want to invest around $10,000 in stocks on the long term. As a beginner, I am very confused about designing my portfolio.

The most two confusing questions are:

1. Is it better to pick 2-3 stocks, or to distribute the money on 10 stocks? (high risk profile is ok)
  2. Is it better to get small caps (hoping for growth) or to go along with the big names?

I searched online a lot but could not find a convincing answer. You know, every start is difficult… :disappointed_relieved:
Every advice is appreciated!

2 Likes

Assalamualaikum!

I’ve only been investing for about 2 years now but here’s my opinion, of course Allah swt knows best. There are many ways you could look at this to be honest. 2-3 stocks are risky for many reasons, but I believe it is better to diversify your portfolio into different sectors (REITS, consumer products, infrastructure, energy, tech, etc) as best you can when creating a portfolio to minimize loss. The less stocks in your portfolio, the riskier.

You also need to think about what type of portfolio you would like to build. Perhaps a dividend portfolio that builds upon itself (realistically giving payouts anywhere from 2-5% depending on what you’re investing in), but keep in mind the value of these stocks usually don’t grow as much as most stocks with lower/no dividend payouts.

Some create “growth” portfolios, or stocks that usually don’t pay dividend at all or minimally, expecting it to grow exponentially over a long period of time. Think Google, Amazon, and tech giants like ServiceNow or Salesforce. This approach is obviously riskier.

If you’re totally unsure which direction to go in, look into a shariah compliant investing platform such as Wahed to manage all of this for you! There are a few others too you can look into.